Latest News

also in the news :
Naas 39 – Newbridge 16Naas overcame a brave Newbridge...
Naas faced Old Belvedere last Saturday afternoon, and despite...
The 2018 Rugby Survey is live on the Irish Rugby website...
An injury hit Naas side travelled north to face Armagh...
Last Saturday week when Naas played Malone they suffered...

IRFU Community News

19/01/2019 SSI IRFU Colleges... The draw for the 2019 third level colleges' senior rugby cups have taken... read on
19/01/2019 Irish Rugby... Thomond RFC's Division 2C campaign is back on track thanks to a 22-17... read on
18/01/2019 All-Ireland... Cork Constitution, Lansdowne, Clontarf and Garryowen currently occupy... read on
18/01/2019 All-Ireland... A blanket of just four points covers the top eight clubs in Division 1B... read on
18/01/2019 All-Ireland... Munster clubs lead the way in Division 2A of the All-Ireland League with... read on
18/01/2019 IRTV: Fun In... The inaugural Spirit of Rugby conference took place in Aviva Stadium last... read on
18/01/2019 All-Ireland... The back-to-back fixtures conclude in Division 2B with front-running pair... read on

Hosie Cup Final   29/12/2018

Naas 39 – Newbridge 16

Naas overcame a brave Newbridge challenge to retain the Hosie Cup at Portlaoise last Saturday afternoon. A fine crowd turned up to see this local derby and although the favourites eventually won well, they certainly had some uncomfortable moments before exerting their dominance.

Naas started well with a try by the Dan Van Zyl after only eight minutes, which captain Cillian Dempsey converted. However Newbridge soon got on top and for the remainder of the half were the better side. They had most of the possession and turned this into points through the boot of Ronan Shekhan, who was successful with three penalty attempts to give his side a 9-7 lead. Naas however did go in at half-time in front as Cillian Dempsey kicked a 35 yard penalty to leave the score at the interval, Naas 10 – Newbridge  9.

Another Dempsey penalty on 43 minutes extended the lead, and for the remainder of the second half Naas took control to retain their title. Another Van Zyl try on 48 minutes, was followed by a Pierce Dargan try and with both being converted by Dempsey the lead was stretched out to 27-9.

An intercept try by Karl Darragh for Newbridge on 61 minutes reduced the lead but Naas finished strongly and further scores by Niall Gorry and Andrew Shanahan saw them run out deserving 39-16 winners.

Naas: Ruairi Cleary, Ben O’Connor, Jordan Fitzpatrick, Andrew Shanahan, Colm Stapleton, Rob Campbell, Dan Van Zyl, Stephen Lackey, Cathal Duff, Jack Barry, Gary Rowan, Colm Gorry, Philip Jordan, Cillian Dempsey (captain), Pierce Dargan. Replacements: Spencer Loughman, Rob Wynne, Niall Gorry, Evan Coyle, Ruadhan McDonnell, Johnny Byrne, Conor Sheridan.



Upcoming Events

Ulster Bank AIL