Latest News

also in the news :
Naas marched into the Second Round of the Bank of Ireland...
Storm Jorge was not able to cause a cancellation of the...
Having amassed three consecutive wins since the turn the...
Naas travelled to Templeville Road last Friday night to...
Old Belvedere traveled to Naas determined to gain revenge...

Bank of Ireland Provincial Town Cups Round 1 2019-01-20 17:00:00

Naas 2nd XV 43 – North Kildare 3

Naas 2nd XV booked their place in the second round of the Towns Cup with a comprehensive home victory over North Kildare last Sunday afternoon. A great break by Rob Lawless almost saw the visitors take the lead in the first minute but the final pass failed to go to hand, and we had to wait 14 further minutes before that first score came. It went to the home side when a great dummy by Cillian Dempsey fooled the North Kildare defence and he ran in unopposed to score and he also converted. Jack Bruton narrowed the lead with North Kildare penalty on 30 minutes, but Andrew Shanahan sliced through the visitors defence for a second Naas try seven minutes later. With Dempsey adding the conversion the home side were in front by 14-3 at the break.

Another Dempsey penalty extended the lead within a minute of the resumption, before hooker Rob Wynne showed the pace of a back to score a fine individual effort on 50 minutes. With the successful conversion attempt Naas were now 24-3 in front.

Although facing a better side North Kildare battled bravely, but in the last seven minutes the floodgates opened with Naas scoring another three tries from Ben O’Connor, Gauthier Petit and Niall Delahunt to run out comfortable winners by a 43-3 margin, and book a home side second round with Gorey.

Naas: John Jennings, Ben O’Connor, Andrew Shanahan, Ross Bailey Kearney, Rory Cleary, Rob Campbell, Max Whittingham, Stephen Lackey, Robert Wynne, Peter King, Gary Rowan, Colm Gorry, Cillian Dempsey, Tony McGuinness, Ruadhan McDonnell. Replacements: Cathal Duff, Mark Ronaldson, Andrew Kearney, Niall Delahunt, Gauthier Petit.

North Kildare: Rob Lawless, Paddy Casey, Luke Gibsey, Matt Walsh, Darren Kearney, Jack Bruton, Ray Flynn, Gearoid Gibbons, Liam Foran, Calvin Coffey, Luke Dempsey, Willie Hansen, Mark Farrell, Daire Russell, Tom Satchwell. Replacements: Dan Murphy, Dermot Preston, Aidan Connaughton, Cameron Futter, Louis Hartnett.


Upcoming Events